Morning Light Cold

When white covers the ground in smooth planes
And the sun shines between bare branches and around corners of houses
(This one and the neighbor’s)
The shadows are blue
And with the beauty of the deep cold
My heart expands
I actually feel movement in my chest as an energy greater than myself alone makes its home, makes me a home
And I remember
Something I can’t put words to
Like an image from a dream that scatters when you try to look at it directly
Or a scent of perfume that reminds you of —
What?
Some time long ago
Of home and warmth
And holding hands
And little red sneakers that looked just right on your feet
And hours spent gazing out windows

Leave a Reply

